Ratchet and Clank: Rift Apart

Oh this is a good looking game!
is it worth the £70 price tag though? well no, not in my opinion anyway, certainly as a next gen game it should be more and around £55 I would say was fair (which is just what I payed for it). I have almost completed the game (just at the end boss) and I have nearly picked up the platinum trophy in just 17 hours. Do not get me wrong, it’s probably my favourite game on the PS5 system to date and has so much going for it including the fact that it’s graphically stunning to look at and places very smooth too! sure there are some issues especially when it comes to platforming area’s which may look climbable but aren’t so you get caught in between textures but a swift jump and dash should see you out. The biggest issue I didn’t care for was the invisible walls around the game, there are some areas which look like you can progress only to be a hidden invisible wall which when jumping you find yourself hitting it and falling to your death. I wouldn’t mind so much if the area’s didn’t look progressable or there was some sort of warning but nope!

I must say I enjoyed the story and characters, the new playable characters bring humour and likability but gameplay wise they are not much different to Ratchet and Clank however, I did actually prefer playing as Rivet and I liked Kit too. My favorite character however, has to be Zurkon Jr, the weapons demos and when he’s introducing you in the challenges are just hilarious.

The glitch levels are also pretty fun to play.

I haven’t stopped playing it since I started which is obviously a good thing, the wide range of weapons can be a little overwhelming and leveling them all up takes a lot of time to do and currency you won’t get on just one playthrough. From what I can see though the platinum isn’t linked to this and one playthrough should have you mopping up all trophies with ease as I have found everything and popped them all without even realising or looking what they are.

This is a great game to be sure and I can see why it’s been reviewed highly with scores nearing perfect. For me it’s just the price tag for the amount of time you will get out of it that discourages me a little. Sony have been pushing this £70 next gen price for a while now when I used to pick up PS4 games for under £40 new. I expected a price increase but this has been a bit too much especially for a sub 2 hour game.
It kinda has replay value but it will be a game i’ll sell and come back to a lot later when it’s either cheaper or on PS+.

Published by Martyn

Just a guy in his mid years who loves health, fitness and travel. Grew up with Video Games and Disney, I am like a big kid!

Leave a comment

Elaine Howlin Studio

lost in the pages of books

Juana Lagalag

Lover of sea, environment , travel and photography.

shazruns

Running and other happenings

Simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?