Super Mario 3D Land

Format Played: 3DS
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Release Date: November 18, 2011
Score: 88%

It’s a Mario game so I’ll keep this short and sweet.  At first I was disappointed about how quickly I was progressing through the levels and worlds managing to easily pick up the 3 star coins in each level and collecting lives quicker then the amount of levels I was completing.  There was doubt in my mind that I would finish the game within a couple of days but thankfully World 8 isn’t the end of the game.  The game does however get a bit more challenging but my only downside is the star coins! These coins are relatively easy to find and pick up with the exception of a couple in the whole game that actually gave me any issues to find.  The star coins you can collect seem to become pointless by the end of the game, they are used to progress and open up new levels but they are so easy to collect you should never have any issues.  Not only this but you can still keep collecting them after you finish the game but to what purpose I am not sure.

 

By the time you get to the real end of the game you will come across a few levels which will eat away at your lives as you slowly start making silly mistakes the more frustrated you get.  Luckily no doubt you will have over 100 at this point so there is no real threat to seeing that game over screen.

The game itself no matter how easy is very enjoyable to play and you will find yourself finding it hard to put down.  The controls are easy enough a novice could pick them up with no trouble and graphically looks impressive in both 2D and 3D.  I did however find myself turning off the 3D view during some levels as I found myself missing jumps because I wasn’t where I thought I was.

The other issue I have is with boss battles becoming to repetitive, I would rather they mixes it up a bit instead of having the same fights throughout the game.

This game is very enjoyable to play but anyone looking for a challenge will be slightly disappointed despite a couple of very challenging levels.  Anyone who enjoys Mario will love this game, it’s a brilliant addition to the Mario games and it brings newness to the series without losing that familiarity.

 

Published by Martyn

Just a guy in his mid years who loves health, fitness and travel. Grew up with Video Games and Disney, I am like a big kid!

Leave a comment

Elaine Howlin Studio

lost in the pages of books

Juana Lagalag

Lover of sea, environment , travel and photography.

shazruns

Running and other happenings

Simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?