The Last of Us: part 2 – No Spoiler Thoughts

Finally completed The Last of Us part 2 last night and this is some no spoiler thoughts about the game.  I will go through in much more detail tomorrow when I upload a spoiler review for those who have played it.

First off let me say this is a long game, much longer than I expected it to be and with that there are some areas which feel drawn out, so they dragged a lot.
I also know this game got a lot of stick and I’ll touch more upon story tomorrow however, for the record right here and now, I absolutely loved this game!

This is probably the best-looking game I have seen this generation and to look at it you would think it was running on a PS5.  Not only are the graphics amazing but, there is so much attention to detail. No two building you enter looks duplicated and when you look around shops and apartments, there is so much to take in and I love this.  This massive world and environment mean that collectors like me spend a long time looking in every possible corner for collectables and artefacts.  Turns out that even I missed a few here and there.

Combat is more evolved from the first game with the ability to move/dive onto your stomach and move mean’s you could hide in long grass, there is also a dodge ability which is fun when you enter a none weapon fight.  There are a couple of things I don’t understand which development issues could be, one is that for most of the game I thought they had done away with tipping the controller to sort out your flashlight however, this comes into play later in the game and only at certain times which is just odd.  Id rather it was taken out as it doesn’t make sense. I did have small glitches where I struggled to pick up items and had to move around a bit for the triangle to pop up.  Also, one area where I fell to my death and the game autosaving my death meaning I had to go back to a previous manual save 2 hours previous.

I said I enjoyed the combat however, there is one part which is limited to certain 1 v 1 fights that I couldn’t stand and that was the camera.  Having a lack of a lock meant that as you dodge and move you could lose your opponent and therefore you are constantly fighting with the camera in order to see. Thankfully this only happens 3-4 times in the whole game.

My total game time was 31 hours but that’s coming from a collector.  I think when I first played the original though, it took me around 10.

last-of-us-2-header-1

story (no spoilers)

Not much I will talk about until tomorrow. I did enjoy the story; a lot of people are moaning that it doesn’t go the way they want well personally I admire how brave NaughtyDog has been with this script. Something happens early on, but you get over it and try and understand why these things are happening.  It would have been boring to have the same sort of game as the first and I for one am glad that they made things different.  There is one bit I didn’t like but again this will be discussed tomorrow. 

music

Pretty much like the first.  There is a section early on where you enter a music shop and play a guitar which is a cool feature.  This appears later a few times and gives you the extra option to practice allowing players to play their own songs. An additional bonus for guitarists or anyone who can read music sheets. Nothing beats the music shop though, it can be missed so I suggest you look out for it.

suggestions

I would suggest anyone who enjoyed the first game, open to a new story and let it take you on its journey.  You may not like it but the best thing to do is to let yourself understand what is happening and why.

Spoilers? come back tomorrow

Published by Martyn

Just a guy in his mid years who loves health, fitness and travel. Grew up with Video Games and Disney, I am like a big kid!

Leave a comment

Elaine Howlin Studio

lost in the pages of books

Juana Lagalag

Lover of sea, environment , travel and photography.

shazruns

Running and other happenings

Simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?