Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag

Format Played:  PS4
Publisher(s): Ubisoft
Developer(s): Ubisoft Montreal
Release Date: October 29, 2013
Score: 8.8/10

Assassin's_Creed_IV_-_Black_Flag_coverBit behind on everything I have finished this year so apart from the Jak2 review I just posted where I needed to get a lot off my chest this game I actually liked which normally means a shorter review!  As you guessed I find it easier to bitch about games than say “yep I liked it”

I really like the Assassin’s Creed games, ever since the first one which was a bit repetitive but I still actually enjoyed it.  I mean it has collectables, you can climb up to high buildings and look around and think to yourself that if you wanted to you can go everywhere you can see! Heck I even liked Assassin’s Creed 3 (well apart from the actual character)

Assassin’s Creed 4 looks outstanding on the PS4, the weather being one of the things that really grabs your attention when first playing.  When a storm comes you can see the rain dynamics change, palm trees blowing in the wind, viability minimizing and rain bouncing off the ground! for me this is a bigger leap forward on next gen than the actual graphics themselves.

Unfortunatly nothing has changed with the running mechanics, you can still get caught on things, you will still end up trying to run up walls when trying to escape from soldiers and you will most defiantly just fall off buildings! But hey! we have put up with it for 4 games so why change it eh!

Traveling around on a boat really does give you satisfaction, spotting a ship and deciding then and there that you want to board it and take it’s good is a fantastic feeling although it does get repetitive once you near the end of the game.  Again there are a whole host of sidequest but again there are a whole host of the same sidequests.

Story isn’t to bad either but something that has changed and that’s money! unlike previous AC games where after 10 hours you have more money than items to upgrade or places to purchase this version requires you to fork out a lot more.  In a way this is better as you don’t feel invincible after such a short time and you do want to do more sidequests in order to unlock extras for your character or ship.

You can send out ships for a small sum to retrieve money and items however to do this safely you will need to play a small mini game which I wasn’t too fond of and neither will you be after the 30th time!

Assassins_creed_4_black_flag_7

Sailing like I said above is actually quite fun and for those who don’t want to spend all your time on a boat shouting ARRRRR there is a fast track available to places you have already visited! but for me I love traveling by the boat, watching the weather change, avoiding enemies and looting ships and islands for money and items.

The other side of the game where you are out of the animus is a lot shorter after complains from previous games but I for one enjoyed the Desmond levels as it provides a welcome change.

All in all being a pirate is a welcome addition to the Assassin’s Creed world, not sure how I feel about going back to city based games however co-op assassins does interest me!

~ by Martyn on August 2, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
