Uncharted 3

Format Played: PS3
Published by: Sony Computer Entertainment
Developed by: Naughty Dog Software
Release Date: November 2, 2011
Score: 8.8/10

Drake’s second outing was a huge step forward over the first game it was hard to know which way naughty dog would go with the uncharted series.  The 3rd and final game got so much hype before its release I actually felt that fans like me missed the point because they were looking for huge leaps forward and what we got was more of the second which affected the way we played and viewed the game.

In my opinion there isn’t any improvement over the second however if you think about it, it’s not a bad thing, I mean, they could have gone and changed it and made it worse and would we be happy then?  The second game for me was my GOTY for 2009 the start alone was epic which is why me and Uncharted 3 got off to a bad start.  The bar fight was a low point, characters all looked the same, the fist fighting dragged on and then continued to feature to much in the rest of the game.  Luckily Uncharted 3 does get a lot better after the moment you step out of a jeep into a jungle setting with Sully, everything is forgotten about and my uncharted adventure can continue the way it was meant to be played.

Graphics the game is superb, some areas are a joy to witness and I found myself stopping every once and a while just to look around. The conversations between Nathan and Victor are as brilliantly scripted and acted as ever and levels like the aircraft and desert really throw you into the thick of an adventure.

Part of me feels like naughty dog have tried too hard with this game after the success of is predecessor however they still manage to pull off something  enjoyable and enthralling, full of action and comedy.  While I felt Uncharted 3 was not as good as the 2nd it still is a very good game.

~ by Martyn on May 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
