Tales of Symphonia

Format Played: Wii [GameCube]
Published by: Namco
Developed by: Namco
Release Date: July 13, 2004
Score: 97%

It’s been a very long time but I have finally sat down and completed this game 7 years after its release and to be honest I am disappointed with myself for leaving it so long.

This has been my 3rd attempt to play through this game the first two lasting about 20 hours of game play before finishing.  I have no idea why I would have stopped playing as I remember really enjoying the game before suddenly stop playing.  The only thing I can think of is my loyally to Final Fantasy games and I find it difficult to step outside that bubble.

I’ll start as I normally do and list the game flaws and for TOS there really is very little to moan about, more of a nitpick than any problems with the game.  The issues I have are with two sections that are based on puzzles.  The first one involves bringing flowers back to life and killing them so that bursts of air go in certain directions and the other involves moving a piece of fruit through a river using fish! Both puzzles are fun at first but take a while to solve and things get boring the longer you play them.

Apart from that the game is pretty much perfect.  The characters are likeable the enemies are likeable; the game is bundled with optional side quests although most are more towards the end of the game.  The music is brilliant and the Story’s strength and plot twists will keeps you engaged from the very start to the very end.

Like all Tales games you only control one character while the AI controls the others however you can change the way they approach each fight and by using the D-Pad you can give orders during each battle to attack, defend or reserve magic’s.   What I also like about Tales games is the way you can change weapons during each battle and the characters you don’t use still level up!

This has been one of the best games I have ever played that still holds up very well today and I will be playing it again to try and get everything.  If rumours are true I hope to see this game released for the 3DS.

~ by Martyn on August 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
