Rubix Re-played!

As you may have noticed I have not really been playing many games of late and to help me get back into the mood I have gone back to games that I have enjoyed in the past, all but one I would put in my top 10 games of all time. So below I present to you a short review of the games I have recently completed. I am currently playing Final Fantasy IX and Kingdom Hearts so these will also follow at some point.

Halo: Combat Evolved

Format: Xbox [Played]
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Bungie Software
Release Date: November 15, 2001
Score: 95%
Played: 4 times

Never managed to play this on released so didn’t know what all the fuss was about but when I finally caved and purchased an Xbox I really began to see where all the hype came from. Halo is as good as people make out, the start for me really doesn’t get you into the game as much as the second level when you land on Halo, I remember the first playthrough after you crash and you look up and around to see the Halo ring in full and just stand back and take a moment to take it all in until you see a massive drop ship coming to drop off some of the Covenant.
There are a few levels that really stand out and any time you get into any of the vehicles you know you are in for a great time. Especially the tank!
For me this is one of the best FPS to date and even though Halo 3 looks fantastic it’d not a patch on this game. To get a better play through of this game it is highly recommended that it’s played on legendary.

Final Fantasy VIII

Format: PSP [Played]
Published by: Square / Square Electronic Arts (US)
Developed by: Square
Release Date: September 9, 1999
Score: 92%
Played: 3 times

While not a patch on FFVII the 8th Final Fantasy goes for a more realistic looking game and introduces you team following you on screen which was taken away again in 9. While there is much that I love about this game there is a few things that get on my nerves the major one being the draw system which you have to draw your magic from enemies. When I first played this game I remember spending about 30 minutes fighting 1 easy enemy just drawing its magic, boring, boring, boring.

The story isn’t as good but the FMV were the best seen yet especially the start, when this game came out my mouth dropped when the advert was shown on TV which shows Squall Dancing with Rinoa at the ball. This game also holds for me the best ending of a game I have ever witnessed.

Metal Gear Solid

Format: PSP [Played]
Published by: Konami
Developed by: Konami
Release Date: October 21, 1998
Score: 95%
Played: 5 Times

The first stelth game I ever played hosts a gripping storyline and thrilling gameplay and the first of it’s kind to add things like Psycho Mantis reading your game memory card or making you change your controller point to beat him. MGS was surly ahead of its time.

Some people complain about the length of FMV and story line there is which gets longer in the later games but for me it’s all part of the whole MGS experience. One of the best games ever to come onto the Playstation system.

~ by Martyn on September 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
